WW7D Award

The Richard Coyne WW7D Memorial Award was created in 2005 to recognize an individual SOARA member who had made an outstanding contribution to the club and the HAM community throughout the prior year. The award is traditionally presented at the annual SOARA Holiday party and banquet in December.

The rotating award was created by the SOARA Board in memory of Richard Coyne WW7D, a very active member of the HAM community, longtime SOARA member and past SOARA board member. Richard passed away unexpectedly in May 2002. Richard would certainly been a worthy recipient of the award that bears his name.


Past WW7D winners are:

2005 Lou Frank, KG6FCT
2006 Brian Roode, NJ6N
2007 Richard Saunders, K6RBS
2008 Michael Slygh, KI6IRA
2009 Howard Brown, KG6GI
2010 Spencer Ammermon, NG6K
2011 Mack Garrett, KD6KSP
2012 Dale Griffith, W8RRV
2013 Sean Reigle, AJ6B
2014 Not awarded to anyone
2015 Hal Silverman, WB6WXO
2016 Lori Carey, NI6X
2017 Ed Barnes, WA6ED
2018 Steve Kuver, K6UVR
2019 Heiko Peschel, AD6OI
2020 Erik Wresch W6INE
2021 Ray Hutchinson, AE6H
2022 Joe Orrico, WB6HRO
2023 Ron Mosher, K0PGE